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PART I. 
 

INITIAL LICENSE. 
 
18 VAC 45-20-05 Definitions  
 
As used in this chapter, unless the context requires a different meaning: 
 
 “Attempting to perform” means any time when a licensee has accepted an assignment to 
perform any of the duties of his office or job. 
 

“Chemical test” as used in this chapter means any scientifically recognized test that analyzes an 
individual’s breath, blood, urine, saliva, bodily fluids, hair or tissues for evidence of alcohol or controlled 
substances listed in Schedules I – V, Title 54.1, Chapter 34, Code of Virginia, “The Drug Control Act.” 
 

The term “Illegal drugs” as used in this chapter includes any “controlled substance” as that term 
is defined in The Drug Control Act at § 54.1-3401, Code of Virginia, listed in Schedule I, § 54.1-3446 
of the Code, or those controlled substances illegally acquired listed from Schedules II – V, §§ 54.1-
3448, 54.1-3450, 54.1-3452 and 54.1-3454, Code of Virginia, as amended, respectively.  It is the 
intent of these regulations that in the event the contents of Schedules I – V of The Drug Control Act are 
changed, that these regulations incorporate such changes at the time those controlled substances are 
made a part of The Drug Control Act in Virginia. 
 

“Medical Review Officer” (MRO) means a Virginia licensed physician(s) with a current valid 
certification from the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine or the American 
Association of Medical Review Officers whose duties, authorities and responsibilities are delineated by 
these organizations. 
 
 “On-duty” means the period of time the licensee is available to receive orders for an assignment. 
 
18 VAC 45-20-10 Initial licensing. (formerly § 1.1) 
 
A. Any person wishing to obtain a license as a Limited Branch Pilot shall meet the following 
qualifications: 
 
 1. Satisfactorily complete a two year apprenticeship in a program approved by the board;  
 
 2. Satisfactorily complete a comprehensive examination which shall be approved by the 

board and administered by the examining committee of the board.  The examination 
shall be in two parts:  

 
  a. Written; and 
 
  b. Practical oral examination. 
 
 3. Comply with the board's regulations and Chapter 9 (§ 54.1-900 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia; 
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 4. Furnish to the board evidence of a satisfactory physical examination conducted within 
the immediately preceding 60 days.  This examination must include a scientifically 
recognized chemical test which analyzes an individual's breath, blood, urine, saliva, 
bodily fluids, or tissues for evidence of dangerous drug or alcohol use; and 

 
5. Notify the board of any chronic or acute physical or mental condition. 

 
5. 6. Pay a licensing fee of $275.00.  Each check or money order shall be made payable to 
the Treasurer of Virginia.  All fees are nonrefundable. 

 
B. Any limited branch pilot wishing to obtain a full branch pilot license shall meet the following 
qualifications: 
 
 1. Satisfactorily complete a five year apprenticeship in a program approved by the board;  
 
 2. Hold a limited branch pilot license in good standing; 
 
 3. Pass a practical examination approved by the board and administered by the board's 

Examining Committee; 
 
 4. Possess a valid unlimited Federal Inland Masters License with First Class Pilot 

endorsement issued by the United States Coast Guard for the same waters as his 
branch.  Any such federal license acquired after January 1994 shall include an 
Automated Radar Plotting Aids (ARPA) radar certificate.  A copy of this license shall 
be filed with the clerk of the board immediately;  

 
 5. Furnish to the board evidence of a satisfactory physical examination conducted within 

the immediately preceding 60 days. This examination must include a scientifically 
recognized test which analyzes an individual's breath, blood, urine, saliva, bodily fluids, 
or tissues for evidence of dangerous drug or alcohol use; 

 
 6. Qualify in accordance with § 54.1-905 of the Code of Virginia; and  
 
 7. Pay a licensing fee of $275.00.  Each check or money order is to be made payable to 

the Treasurer of Virginia.  All fees are nonrefundable. 
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PART II. 
 

LICENSE RENEWAL. 
 
18 VAC 45-20-20 License renewal. (formerly § 2.1) 
 
A. Each pilot seeking renewal of his license shall complete a renewal application, comply with the 
provisions of this section, and appear before the board or its License Renewal Committee which shall 
determine if he possesses the qualifications to be renewed. 
 
B. Any limited branch pilot seeking to renew his license shall meet the following standards: 
 
 1. Furnish to the board evidence of a satisfactory physical examination conducted within 

the immediately preceding 60 days.  This examination must include a scientifically 
recognized test which analyzes an individual's breath, blood, urine, saliva, bodily fluids, 
or tissues for evidence of dangerous drug or alcohol use; 

 
 2. Furnish to the board evidence that he has transited the waters embraced by his license 

during the preceding 12 months; 
 
 3. After three years of licensure as a limited branch pilot, possess a valid First Class Pilot 

License issued by the United States Coast Guard for the same waters as his limited 
branch.  Any such federal license acquired after January 1994 shall include an 
Automated Radar Plotting Aids (ARPA) radar certificate; and 

 
 4. Pay a license renewal fee of $375.00.  Each check or money order is to be made 

payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  All fees are non-refundable. 
  
C. Any full branch pilot seeking to renew his license shall meet the following standards:  
 
 1. Possess a valid unlimited Federal Inland Masters License with First Class Pilot 

endorsement issued by the United States Coast Guard for the same waters as his 
branch; any such federal license renewed or acquired after January 1994 shall include 
an Automated Radar Plotting Aids (ARPA) radar certificate; 

 
 2. Furnish to the board evidence of a satisfactory physical examination conducted within 

the immediately preceding 60 days.  This examination must include a scientifically 
recognized test which analyzes an individual's breath, blood, urine, saliva, bodily fluids, 
or tissues for evidence of dangerous drug or alcohol use; 

 
 3. Furnish to the board evidence that he has transited the waters embraced by his license 

during the preceding 12 months, and that he has piloted 12 or more ships during that 
time, at least six trips as a pilot within the first six months of the calendar year and six 
trips as a pilot within the last six months of the calendar year; 

 
 4. Upon the showing of good cause, the board may waive the requirements of subdivision 

3 of this subsection when in its judgment the pilot is otherwise qualified; 
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 5. Qualify in accordance with § 54.1-906 of the Code of Virginia; and 
 
 6. Pay a license renewal fee of $375.00.  Each check or money order is to be made 

payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  All fees are nonrefundable. 
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PART III. 
 

CHANGE OF LICENSE. 
 
18 VAC 45-20-30 Change of license. (formerly § 3.1) 
 
In order to extend a license, an applicant must satisfactorily complete twelve or more round trips with a 
currently licensed pilot of the branch for which the applicant seeks licensure, receive a First Class Pilot 
License issued by the United States Coast Guard for that additional area and pass a practical 
examination approved by the board and administered by the board's Examination Committee. 
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PART IV. 
 

STANDARDS OF CONDUCT. 
 
18 VAC 45-20-40 Grounds for denial of licensure, denial of renewal, or discipline. 

(formerly § 4.1) 
 
The board shall have the authority to deny initial licensure, deny an extension of license, or deny renewal 
as well as to discipline existing licensees, whether limited or not, for the following reasons: 
 
 1. Having been convicted or found guilty regardless of adjudication in any jurisdiction of 

the United States of any felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or any 
alcohol or drug-related offense there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for 
appeal having elapsed.  Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 
for the purposes of this paragraph.  The record of a conviction certified or authenticated 
in such form as to be admissible in evidence of the laws of the jurisdiction where 
convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction. 

 
 2. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of pleading guilty or nolo 

contendere or being convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a misdemeanor 
involving moral turpitude. 

 
 3. Failing to report to the board in writing any reports of the National Transportation 

Safety Board involving the licensee, or the results of any disciplinary action taken by the 
United States Coast Guard taken against the licensee within 30 days of that action. 

 
 4. Refusing or in any other way failing to carry out an order from the pilot officers for 

reasons other than the public's health, safety, and welfare. 
 
 5. Negligence or misconduct in the performance of duties. 
 
 6. Violating or cooperating with others in violating any provision of Chapter 9 (§ 54.1-900 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, as amended, or any regulation of the 
board. 

 
 7. Failing to, as soon as possible under the circumstances, report to the pilot officers his 

finishing time and other required information relating to the particulars of the ship. 
 
 8. Failing to file immediately with the president or vice president of the board, with a copy 

to the board administrator, a complete written account of any violation of the statutes of 
Virginia or of the United States relating to pilotage, or failing to report in writing to the 
president or vice president of the board, with a copy to the board administrator, an 
account of all collisions, groundings, or other maritime mishaps of any description that 
may occur during the discharge of the pilot's duties.  This report shall be received no 
later than seven days after such an incident. 

 
 9. Failing to report to the board any physical, emotional, or psychological or mental 

impairments condition which may affect his ability to perform the duties of a pilot.  Such 
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reports must be provided within 30 days of the onset of the condition. 
 
 10. Refusal to comply with the board's requirement for a scientifically recognized chemical 

test which analyzes an individual's breath, blood, urine, saliva, bodily fluids or tissues for 
evidence of dangerous drug or alcohol use.  Such test is required immediately and no 
later than 12 hours after involvement in a collision, grounding or other incident resulting 
in personal injury, death, environmental hazard or property damage in excess of 
$100,000.  Refusal to comply with this requirement shall may result in summary 
suspension of the pilot's license in accordance with § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia. 

 
 11. Refusal to comply with the board's any board requirement for a scientifically recognized 

chemical test which analyzes an individual's breath, blood, urine, saliva, bodily fluids or 
tissues for evidence of dangerous drug or alcohol use in any instance in which the board 
has reasonable cause to believe a test is necessary to protect the public health, safety, 
or and welfare.  Refusal to comply with this requirement shall may result in summary 
suspension of the pilot's license in accordance with § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia. 

 
 12. Failure to send the proof of any test required by regulation 18 VAC 45-20-40.10 or 18 

VAC 45-20-40.11 to the president or vice president of the board, with a copy to the 
board administrator, within 48 hours of the administration of the test. 

 
 13. An indication of impairment in the results of any on a test furnished under regulation 18 

VAC 45-20-40.10 or 18 VAC 45-20-40.11 administered pursuant to this chapter. 
 
 14. Performing or attempting to perform any of the duties of his office or job while under the 

influence of illegal drugs. 
 

14. 15. Performing or attempting to perform any of the duties of his office or job while under the 
influence of alcohol, or any medication (controlled substance or otherwise) to the extent 
that he is was unfit for the performance of the duties of his office or job. 

 
 16. Failing to comply with any of the provisions of section 18 VAC 45-20-50 of this 

chapter. 
 
18 VAC 45-20-50 Random Chemical Testing 
 

All Virginia licensed Branch Pilots shall be subject to the random chemical testing of this 
chapter.  Random chemical testing shall be conducted at an annual selection rate of not less than thirty 
percent and not more than one-hundred percent of total licensees.  Licensees are responsible for all 
costs associated with random chemical testing.  The chemical test shall be a comprehensive drug screen 
acceptable to the board that includes testing for controlled substances in Schedules I – V, Title 54.1, 
Chapter 34, Code of Virginia. 
 

Only licensees on-duty may be selected for random testing.  A licensee selected for random 
chemical testing shall report for testing within two hours of notification.  Failure to take a random 
chemical test is considered refusal to take the test. 
 
A. Duties of Licensee 
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 1. All licensees of this board shall enroll and participate in a random chemical testing 

program that meets the criteria of this chapter. 
 
 2. An on-duty licensee selected for random chemical testing shall report for testing within 

two hours of notification that he has been selected. 
 

3. Licensees who receive a prescription for any medication from any health care provider 
shall have the following duties: 
 
a. give the provider a copy of the licensees’ job description as a Virginia pilot, 

and; 
 
b. give the provider a complete list of medications used within the thirty days 

preceding the current visit, and; 
 

c. the licensee shall obtain a written statement from the health care provider stating 
if the new prescription is for a controlled substance (Schedules II – V of The 
Drug Control Act), and shall obtain a written statement from the health care 
provider as to the licensees’ fitness to safely perform the duties found in the job 
description, and; 

 
d. if prescribed any medication containing a Schedule II – V controlled substance, 

that is to be used within twelve hours of being on duty, the licensee shall make 
certain the MRO received by hand delivery or telefax each prescription written 
by any health care provider at the time such prescription is written along with a 
complete list of medications used by the licensee within the preceding thirty 
days. 

 
B. Criteria for Medical Review Officer 
 

1. Be completely familiar with all duties of a Virginia pilot. 
 
2. Receive, evaluate and maintain records of all medications given him by or on behalf of 

each Virginia pilot. 
 
3. Receive, evaluate and maintain a record of each random chemical test taken by a 

Virginia pilot. 
 
4. Any time the MRO finds the presence of a drug or alcohol that may impair the safe 

discharge of any duty of a Virginia pilot such that he is unfit to perform those duties, his 
written findings shall be reported to the licensee and President or Vice-President of the 
board and to the board’s administrator. 

 
5. To the extent consistent with State and federal law, protect the confidentiality of all 

licensee records. 
 
6. The MRO shall judge fitness to safely perform duties in the context of the licensee’s 
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prescription medication’s and the licensee’s available medical history.  Any time the 
MRO finds evidence that the Virginia pilot may be impaired in the safe discharge of any 
of his duties such that he may be unfit to perform those duties, his written finding shall be 
reported to the licensee and President or Vice-President of the board and to the 
board’s administrator. 

 


